The majority of this collection is personal correspondence from E. H. C. Taylor to his family during his service in the U.S. Civil War from 1860-1864. It also includes some later correspondence, his Muster Roll and a lithograph from the 4th Regiment Michigan Infantry.
The collection contains items from Virginia C. Trimble's time at William Smith College in the early 1920s and some items from the 1930s. Materials include William Smith College viewbooks, Pine yearbooks, postcards and greeting cards, and an examination book from 1923.
A small collection of undated photographs of campus scenes donated by Charles V. Adair and his wife. Includes photographs of sporting events, religious life, fraternities, campus houses, theatre, and general student life activities.
The papers of George M. B. Hawley, Geneva lawyer and local historian, include notes, correspondence, articles, and other writings by Hawley and others on the history of Geneva, the Finger Lakes region, and Hobart College.
This collection contains the papers of Alexander Sloan Campbell H '25 and his wife Ishbel MacLeish Campbell. A. S. Campbell taught English at HWS from 1948-1968. His expertise was in Shakespeare and American Literature of the 19th and 20th centuries.
Materials relating to Prof. of Biology Theodore T. Odell include correspondence, publications, photographs, newspaper articles, biographical materials, awards, honorary degrees, event programs, and academic memorabilia.
This collection contains scrapbooks by students and scrapbooks by or for college presidents. Also included are scrapbooks of news clippings, of college history, of college records, of college organizations, of class reunions and news clippings from WW I.
The Robert Huff papers contain numerous newspaper articles, letters, magazine articles, and note cards on Elizabeth Smith Miller, Anne Fitzhugh Miller, and the Geneva Political Equality Club from 1900-1920.
This collection contains memorabilia of Gladys Moyer Dean, WS 1912 including correspondence with her parents, play notices, postcards, invitations, programs, dance cards, and term reports and schedules.
This collection contains the papers of Romana Lashewycz-Rubycz, most of which relate to her time as a professor of inorganic chemistry at HWS. The collection includes research grant proposals, publications, course notes, and handouts.
A collection of papers belonging to or regarding Marianna MacKay Wilkins '28, including programs, cards, bridge tally cards, dance cards and programs, correspondence, articles, photographs, and various memorabilia.
The papers of Helen Bateman Heath, William Smith Dean from 1944-1967, contain personal items and documents related to her work at HWS. Materials include class plans, notes, and examinations from the Western Civilization program.
Pro Patria was printed for remembrance of those HWS students who died in World War II. This collection has documentation of the process of the making of the Pro Patria publication and includes receipts, correspondences, associated texts, and edited copies.
This is a small collection comprised of four notebooks once belonging to Professor of Chemistry Dr. Ralph H. Bullard. The notebooks contain handwritten notes on chemistry. Most of the books are undated.
This collection is comprised entirely of the notebooks of Prof. of Sociology Helmut Wagner. There are 272 notebooks in all. Most notebooks contain research on people or topics, mainly related to religion, sociology, and economic social status.
Materials related to Elizabeth R. Durfee (Registrar), Walter Hetherington Durfee (Dean, Provost, Acting President and Professor), William Pitt Durfee (Dean, Acting President and Professor), and Horton K. Durfee, Hobart class of 1949 and WW II veteran.
The collection is primarily made up of drafts and manuscript versions of Jones' novels "Force of Gravity" (1991) and "Walking on Air" (1995). Also included are notebooks, correspondence, newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, loose photographs, and more.
The collection contains over 1600 dime novels once belonging to Joseph J. Myler, class of 1919 and member of the Board of Trustees. The novels are almost exclusively those published by Beadle & Adams of New York and Street & Smith of New York from 1860-1936.
The collection contains Murray Bartlett's diary from his time in France in 1918 as a chaplain in the 18th Infantry of the U.S. Army. Also included is a handwritten transcript of the diary done in 1973.
This collection contains letters between James R. Doolittle 1834 and friends from Geneva College. There are also a few papers and speeches written while at college and during his career, though not while he served as a U.S. Senator from Wisconsin.
The materials in this collection primarily consist of theater programs from productions staged theaters, the majority of which are from theaters in New York City from the 1920s to the late 1950s. Also included are programs from productions staged in theaters at HWS, the Smith Opera House, and other theaters in the Rochester area, the U.S., and around the world.
This is a collection of Valerie Saiving's papers that includes her work as a scholar as well as material reflecting her time as a student at the University of Chicago and as a Professor of Religious Studies at HWS from 1959-1987.
This small collection contains letters written to Theodore Baird, class of 1921, from classmate George M. Rutter '20 and Professor Herbert Hilarion Yeames. The correspondence to Baird was written over a period from 1938 to 1966.
This collection contains materials related to the tumultuous events of 1968-1970, inspired primarily by student opposition to the Vietnam War. These events include the flag-washing incident, the sit-in protesting the Air Force R.O.T.C. program, the firebombing of the R.O.T.C. office in Sherrill Hall, and the campus drug raid and subsequent standoff with police. Additional materials cover the arrests and trials which followed. Thomas Tongyai (a.k.a. Tommy the Traveler) is a primary figure in many of these events.
This collection contains memorabilia and scrapbooks on the history of Sill House from 1939-1993. Included are photographs, stories, and letters that have been compiled into two scrapbooks, the first created in 1955 and an updated version from 1993.
This collection contains the papers of Warren Hunting Smith, Hobart & William Smith trustee, editor of the Horace Walpole letters, and grand-nephew of William Smith, founder, most notably his voluminous personal and professional correspondence.
The materials in this collection document Don Woodrow's tenure as a faculty member in the Geoscience Department and the department's evolution and growth. Also included are materials documenting larger campus events.
This collection is comprised mostly of correspondence from Benjamin Hale to his wife, Mary Caroline King Hale, to his sons and daughter, and to friends and associates from 1833-1862. Also includes letters from Mary Caroline King Hale to her husband and family.
These materials are related to research on John Ruskin in support of the Ruskin volumes in our rare book collection. Also included are the Derrick Leon papers, primarily correspondence between Derrick Leon and Greville McDonald regarding letters of Ruskin's.
Collection contains a variety of material related to Elizabeth Blackwell including articles written by and about her, newspaper clippings, correspondence, pamphlets, and more. The collection does not contain any of Elizabeth Blackwell's personal papers.
This collection is comprised of 16 oral history interviews with William Smith College alumnae conducted between 2001 and 2003. The interviews were part of a feminist oral history project for Women's Studies 301.
This collection contains the papers of Professor of Religion Richard "Doc" Heaton, and includes materials related to his courses, study abroad programs, campus events, and local social and religious organizations.
This collection contains the family papers of Daisy Weeks Buchholz, WS 1912. The materials cover her time at William Smith College, her marriage to Arthur Buchholz, H 1909, and their subsequent life and family. Items include diaries, correspondence, photographs, and a large collection of genealogical materials assembled by Daisy and Arthur’s daughter, Priscilla Frisbee.
This collection contains items from Wilson Hinsdale Fraude's time at Hobart College including newspaper clippings, photographs, and programs from performances, as well as materials covering the resignation of President Holland and the President Selection Committee.
This collection is primarily comprised of correspondence between members of the Mumford family and their relatives through several generations. The letters are personal and are largely on everyday topics and life events.
This collection contains materials covering the United States Air Force R.O.T.C. at Hobart College, which existed from 1951-1970. The materials consist primarily of photographs and newspaper clippings removed from five scrapbooks and several files of correspondence.
Files contain biographical information on people associated with HWS including alumni/ae, faculty, administrators, guest speakers, and award recipients. There are also files on people of local significance.
The Board of Trustee records -- Minutes and Committees record group contains the agenda, minutes, and other meeting materials of the Board of Trustees including the materials of Board of Trustees committees.
Files pertaining to the creation of the Elizabeth Blackwell Award in 1958, and its recipients. Includes correspondence, photographs, programs, nominations, news releases, slides, biographical information, and award certificates.
The papers of Allan A. Kuusisto, President of HWS from 1970 to 1982, including correspondence, biographical information, Colleges related documents, published materials, photographs, and personal files.
This record group contains records from the Art and Architecture Department. The majority of the materials relate to exhibitions held on campus. Materials include invitations, correspondence, posters, programs, and planning documents.
This record group is a collection of syllabi created by HWS faculty for courses taught at the Colleges between 1946 and 1987. The majority of the syllabi are from courses in the Western Civilization program.
A collection of materials created to support several of the colleges' Self-Studies prepared for the Middle States Commission on Higher Education. It includes committee reports, surveys of faculty and students, departmental reports as well as miscellaneous items.
This collection contains informational student files created by the HWS Alumni and Alumnae Relations office. The files in this collection cover Geneva College, Hobart College, and William Smith College students who graduated between 1826 and 1930.
Capital campaigns are designed to raise money for the endowment, for scholarships, and for specific building and renovation projects. This record group contains materials from the 1984, 1994, and 2006 HWS capital campaigns.
The Geneva Scholarship Associates was created ca. 1967-1968 to supplement funds, or scholarship aid, already available at HWS in order to enable worthy high school graduates residing within Geneva to attend the Colleges.
Materials from the William Smith Dean's Office include newsletters, correspondence, matriculation lists, event programs and invitations, materials related to the honor societies Hai Timiai and the Laurel Society, Dean's reports, and more.
Collection includes pamphlets, scrapbook pages, correspondence, programs, schedule guides, playlists, posters, calendars, scripts, promotions, news releases, and newspaper clippings from the Colleges' radio station WEOS.
RG 10 contains the records of the Office of Religious Life, which encompasses the Chaplain's Office and the Abbe Center for Jewish Life. The majority of these materials were given to the Archives by the Chaplain's Office sometime around 1994.