This Library of Congress guide to published newspapers, indicates what papers were published for a given location, what years, and where the paper is currently held. Helpful for locating papers that are not online.
Through ProQuest, this database contains full-text articles of the New York Times dating from 1851 through approximately 2.5 years ago. For recent New York Times articles, use ProQuest Direct.
Digitized issues of the Brooklyn Daily Eagle (1841-1963), Brooklyn Life (1890-1924), and Brooklyn Life and Activities of Long Island Society (1924-1931).
The full text of the Herald, the HWS student newspaper, can now be searched online at the New York State Historic Newspapers website. The Herald covers the years 1942-2015. For past issues, see also the Hobart Herald (1879-1942).
The full text of the Hobart Herald, precursor to the present-day Herald, the HWS student newspaper, can now be searched online at the New York State Historic Newspapers website. The Hobart Herald covers the years 1879-1942. For current issues, see also the Herald (1942-2015).
Sister site to the NY Heritage project, search and browse historic newspapers from across the state. Regional papers in and around Rochester, NY, include Brockport, Canandaigua, Fairport, Geneva, Newark, Rochester, and Rush.
Other Newspaper Databases
Other newspaper databases containing notable historic New York State newspapers, among other titles, states, and aggregated content:
Online access to approximately 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This collection includes papers from more than 35 states.
