Warren Hunting Smith Library: Popular Magazine Databases: Topic Guide

Interwar Culture
Popular and lesser-known magazines published during the interwar period (1919-1929) with a focus on society and culture.

Architectural Digest Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Back files of Architectural Digest magazine from 1922 - 2011.
Art Magazine Collection This link opens in a new window
Backfiles of The Magazine Antiques (1922-2016), Art in America (1913-2015), and ARTnews (1902-2006).
Atlantic Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Back files of the Atlantic Magazine from 1857 - 2014.
Bloomberg Businessweek Archive This link opens in a new window
Backfiles of Businessweek and Bloomberg Businessweek from 1929-2000.
Flipster Digital Editions This link opens in a new window
New digital platform for accessing select popular magazines.
Life Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Online coverage of Life Magazine from 1936 to 2000.
Sports Illustrated Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Backfiles from the sports magazine from 1954-2000.

Economist Archive, 1843-2020 This link opens in a new window
Search The Economist archive online from 1843 to 2020.
National Geographic Archive, 1888-2020 This link opens in a new window
Browse National Geographic Magazine online from 1888 to 2020.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2019 This link opens in a new window
Search and browse the Times Literary Supplement (TLS) archive from 1902 to 2019 for reviews and literary criticism.

Alt-Press-Watch This link opens in a new window
Magazine and newspapers articles from alternative and independent presses from 1970 to the present.
American Periodical Series, 1741-1940 This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of early popular American magazines published from colonial days to the early 20th century.
ProQuest International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
News content from outside the U.S. and Canada.
ProQuest U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Find current news articles from United States sources, including newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites.
Rolling Stone Archive This link opens in a new window
The complete backfile of Rolling Stone from 1967 to present.
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Consumer magazines aimed at a female readership through which to interpret multiple aspects of 19th and 20th-century history and culture.